Come and visit our wonderful school including our NEW NURSERY. We have open mornings every Wednesday at 10am led by the Headteacher.

Our Early Years Curriculum

Your very first year in school 

A great start at Braywood

Our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that will follow each child through the rest of their schooling. For this reason we make all our learning fun. Our curriculum is planned to ensure that children learn, develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning styles to ensure children's 'school readiness' and gives them the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

In the Foundation Stage, how the children learn is as important as what they learn. The children learn through planned play activities and are encouraged to experience a wide range of resources, both inside and outdoors that will help them acquire the skills necessary for the early stages of reading, writing and mathematics. At Braywood we believe that there should be a transitional phase between Year 1 and the Foundation Stage because children develop in these key areas at different rates. This differentiation is reflected in the day-to-day planning of activities across the curriculum. Those children who need extensions to progress their knowledge and abilities are catered for as equally as those who are struggling to achieve expected outcomes on the scale points of the EYFS profile. The planning is reviewed and amended on a daily basis according to the children's suggestions and areas of interest. At all times it is ensured that all areas of the curriculum are covered, and all interests are catered for.

The Curriculum

The curriculum we follow is The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. There are seven areas of learning and development. Children should develop the first three prime areas first. These are:

  •        Communication and language
  •        Physical development and
  •        Personal, social and emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  •        Literacy
  •        Mathematics
  •        Understanding the world and
  •        Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child's learning and activities.